By-poll result retains R.R Nagar assembly seat

by Politics | 01-06-2018 | 12361 views

Bengaluru: The Congress today won the Rajeshwari Nagar assembly seat in the City by a margin of 25,400 votes. This is the first election the Congress-JDS coalition government headed by HD kumaraswamy came to power. Congress and JDS had fought against each other despite being coalition partners JDS was left third in the race. 

According to Poll officials, Congress in Munirathna secured 1,08,064 votes against his nearest BJP rival Tulsi Muniraju Gowdas 82,572 votes. While JDS candidate G.H Ramachandra who joined the party after quitting ahead of the polls came a distant third by securing 60,360 votes. 

While Assembly Elections across the state were held on May 12 polling in Rajeshwari Nagar was differed may 28 by the election commission after the voter ID controversy erupted and also on Grounds of electoral malpractices. Ahead of the may 12 elections 10,000 voter ID cards were seized from an apartment in the constituency.

Munirathna is one of the accused in the case related voter ID cards row. Police have registered a case of election related malpractices relevant sections of the IPC besides offences under the peoples representation act against muniratna and others.

Lets socialize : Share via Whatsapp