Goa by-elections: Manohar Parrikar wins a seat

by Politics | 28-08-2017 | 594 views

Panaji:  The ruling BJP has won the by-elections to two assembly seats in Goa, with Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar emerging  victorious from panaji and health minister Viswajith Rane from Valpoi.

Parrikar , who returned to the state from the Centre after the assembly elections in February, defeated his nearest rival, congress’ Girish Chodankar by 4,803. As per the final results announced, Parrikar got 9,862 votes against 5,059 votes got by chodankar. Goa Suraksha Manch (GSM) president Anand shirodkar got 220 votes while 301 people opted for ‘none of the above’ or NOTA in the august 23 election.

Lets socialize : Share via Whatsapp