BJP wins 6 seats, Samajwadi Party wins 1 seat in UP bypoll

by Politics | 10-11-2020 | 4093 views

The BJP has secured six seats while the Samajwadi Party won one seat in the Uttar Pradesh bypoll on Tuesday. Samajwadi Party retained the Malhani assembly seat with its candidate Lucky Yadav defeating Independent candidate Dhananjaya Singh by a margin of 4,632 votes. The bypoll to the seat was necessitated due to the death of sitting party MLA Parasnath Yadav.

Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) chief and Former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi has won from the Imamganj constituency in the Bihar Assembly Election. He defeated Rashtriya Janata Dal's Uday Narain Choudhary by a margin of 16,034 votes. Manjhi had won from the seat in the last Assembly election as well.

RJD leader and Lalu Prasad Yadav's son Tej Pratap Yadav won from the Hasanpur seat in the Bihar Assembly election. He defeated JD(U) candidate Raj Kumar Ray with a margin of 21,139 votes. Ray had won from the seat in the last state Assembly election. Meanwhile, Tejashwi Yadav is leading from the Raghopur seat.

BJP has won all the eight seats in the bypolls in Gujarat, according to the results announced by the Election Commission on Tuesday. More than 55% of the votes counted went to the BJP, while Congress received just over 34% votes. "The results (of the Gujarat bypolls) are a trailer for the upcoming local polls here," CM Vijay Rupani said.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has defeated the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to register a victory in the Dubbak Assembly by-poll. BJP's Raghunandan Rao Madhavaneni defeated TRS candidate Solipeta Sujatha by a margin of 1,079 votes. The by-poll was necessitated due to the death of sitting TRS MLA Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy in August this year.

The ruling BJP in Karnataka won bypolls to two Assembly constituencies in the state on Tuesday, by defeating opposition parties Congress and JDS. In RR Nagar constituency, BJP candidate Munirathna won by a margin of 57,672 votes, while in Sira constituency, BJP candidate Dr BM Rajesh Gowda won by a margin of 13,000 votes.

Amidst the counting of votes for the Bihar Assembly election, the Election Commission said, "It has been clarified time and again that EVMs are absolutely robust and tamper-proof." ECI added, "There have been doubters of EVM from across political parties, particularly when the results don't go in their favour." Earlier, Congress leader Udit Raj alleged that EVMs could be hacked.

Lets socialize : Share via Whatsapp