MK Stalin Takes Oath as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for First Time

by Politics | 07-05-2021 | 11979 views

Chennai: DMK president MK Stalin on Friday took oath as the chief minister of Tamil Nadu for the first time. His swearing-in ceremony was held at Raj Bhavan in Chennai. Governor Banwarilal Purohit administered the oath of office and secrecy to Stalin and his Cabinet ministers.

The Governor on Wednesday appointed Stalin as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and invited him to form the government after he staked claim, submitting a letter on his election as legislature party leader.

Ahead of the swearing-in Stalin’s Cabinet of 34 members, including him, received the approval of the governor on Thursday. While the DMK chief has retained senior leaders like Duraimurugan, 15 members shall be ministers for the first time.

List of 34 ministers

  • MK Stalin - Public, General Administration, Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service, Other All India Service, District Revenue Officers, Police, Home, Special Initiatives, Special Programme Implementation, Welfare of Differently abled persons.
  • Durai Murugan - Minister for Water Resources - Irrigation Projects including small Irrigation, Legislative Assembly, Governor and Ministry, Elections and Passports, Minerals and Mines
  • KN Nehru - Minister for Municipal Administration - Municipal Administration, Urban and Water Supply.
  • I Periyasamy - Minister for Cooperation - Co-operation, Statistics and Ex-Servicemen Welfare
  • K Ponmudi - Minister for Higher Education - Higher Education including Technical Education, Electronics, Science and Technology
  • MRK Panneerselvam - Minister for Agriculture and Farmer’s Welfare - Agriculture, Agricultural Engineering, Agro Service Co-operatives, Horticulture, Sugarcane Excise, Sugarcane Development and Waste Land Development
  • KKSSR Ramachandran - Minister for Revenue and Disaster Management - Revenue, District Revenue Establishment, Deputy Collectors, Disaster Management
  • Thangam Thennarasu - Minister for Industries - Industries, Tamil Official Language and Tamil Culture, Archeology.
  • S Reghupathy - Minister for Law -  Law, Courts, Prisons and Prevention of Corruption
  • S Muthusamy - Minister for Housing and Urban Development - Housing, Rural Housing, Town Planning projects and Housing Development, Accommodation Control, Town Planning, Urban Development and Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority
  • KR Periakaruppan - Minister for Rural Development -  Rural Development, Panchayats and Panchayat Unions, Poverty Alleviation Programmes, Rural Indebtedness.
  • TM Anbarasan - Minister for Rural Industries - Rural Industries including  cottage industries, small Industries, Slum Clearance Board.
  • MP Saminathan - Minister for Information and Publicity - Information and Publicity, Film Technology and Cinematograph Act, Newsprint Control, Stationery and Printing, Government Press.
  • P Geetha Jeevan - Minister for Social Welfare & Women - Empowerment Women and Children Welfare including Social Welfare, Orphanages and Correctional Administration, Integrated Child Development Scheme and Beggar Homes and Social Reforms and Nutritious Meal Programme
  • Anitha R Radhakrishnan - Minister for Fisheries – Fishermen Welfare and Animal Husbandry -- Fisheries and Fisheries Development Corporation and Animal Husbandry
  • Rajakannappan - Minister for Transport Transport -Nationalised Transport and Motor Vehicles Act.
  • K Ramachandran - Minister for Forests - Forests
  • R Sakkarapani - Minister for Food and Civil Supplies - Food and Civil Supplies, Consumer Protection and Price Control
  • V Senthilbalaji  - Minister for Electricity - Electricity, Prohibition & Excise, Non Conventional Energy Development, Prohibition and Excise, Molasses
  • R Gandhi - Minister for Handlooms and Textiles - Handlooms and Textiles, Khadi and Village Industries Board, Boodhan and Gramadhan.
  • M A Subramanian - Minister for Medical and Family Welfare -  Health, Medical Education and Family Welfare
  • P Moorthy - Minister for Commercial Taxes and Registration - Commercial Taxes, Registration and Stamp Act, Weights and Measures, Debt Relief including legislation on Moneylending, Chits and Registration of Companies
  • SS Sivasankar - Minister for Backward Classes -  Welfare Backward Classes Welfare, Most Backward Classes Welfare and Denofied Communities Welfare
  • Sekarbabu - Minister for Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments -  Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments
  • Palanivel Thiagarajan - Minister for Finance and Human Resources Management -  Finance, Planning, Personnel and Administrative Reforms, Pensions and Pension allowances
  • SM Nasar - Minister for Milk and Dairy Development - Milk and Diary Development
  • Gingee KS Masthan - Minister for Minorities Welfare and Non Resident Tamils Welfare -  Minorities Welfare, Non Resident Tamils Welfare, Refugees & Evacuees and Wakf Board
  • Anbil Mahesh Poyyamozhi -Minister for School Education - School Education
  • Siva V Meyyanathan - Minister for Environment - Climate Change and Youth Welfare and Sports Development Environment and Pollution Control, Youth Welfare and Sports Development
  • CV Ganesan - Minister for Labour Welfare and Skill Development -  Labour Welfare, Population, Employment and Training, Census, Urban and Rural Employment
  • T Mano Thangaraj - Minister for Information Technology - Information Technology
  • M Mathiventhan - Minister for Tourism - Tourism and Tourism Development Corporation
  • N Kayalvizhi Selvaraj - Minister for Adi Dravidar Welfare - Adi Dravidar Welfare, Hill Tribes and Bonded Labour Welfare.

The DMK won 133 seats in the April 6 Assembly polls and along with allies, including Congress, garnered a total of 159 constituencies in the 234-member Assembly. The AIADMK won 66 segments and its partners BJP and PMK, four and five seats respectively.

Lets socialize : Share via Whatsapp