Independence Day 2021: What is the color of India's first national flag? How did it become today's tricolor flag?

by Blog | 15-08-2021 | 178 views

The national flag of India has undergone major changes since its inception. On closer inspection, this evolution somehow reflects the various developments in Indian politics. As the country celebrates its 75th anniversary after independence as 'Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav', you must know some of the historical milestones in the evolution of our national flag.

India's first national flag, hoisted in three horizontal stripes, green, yellow and red (top to bottom), was hoisted on August 7, 1906 at Parsi Bagan Square (Green Park) in Kolkata. It had 8 lilies on the green line and the moon and sun on the red line.

One year later, in 1907, the second flag was hoisted by Madame Cama and her group of exiled revolutionaries. This flag was similar to the first. But there were some changes in this. When the color of the top line changed to saffron, the center remained yellow, while the bottom line turned green. When the position of the moon and the sun changed, the lilies on the top line were replaced with stars.

Then, when India's political struggle for independence reached a turning point, Dr. Anne Basant and Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak together hoisted their third flag, which was transformed in the 1917 Home Rule movement. Of these, five red and four green horizontal lines were arranged alternately. In the upper left corner (at the end of the flagpole) was the Union Jack, and on the flag were the seven stars on the appearance of the Saptarishi. In one corner of the flag was a white crescent moon and star.

In 1921, at a session of the All India Congress Committee in Beswada, a young man from Andhra Pradesh presented a design of the flag to Gandhiji. Accordingly, the flag had two colors. Red and green. These represent the two major communities, Hindus and Muslims, respectively. Gandhiji had proposed to add a white section to represent the remaining remaining communities living in India.

The year 1931 has a special significance in the history of the national flag. This year, a resolution was passed to adopt the tricolor as our national flag. Accordingly, the flag had three horizontal stripes, saffron (top), white (center) and green (bottom), with a rotating wheel in the center indicating the progress of the nation.Although the tricolor was widely accepted, people opposed the representation of the spinning wheel as a symbol of national progress because it had no communal significance.

Finally, on July 22, 1947, the National Flag of Independent India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly. The color and significance of the national flag of India has remained unchanged since independence. However, instead of the spinning wheel symbolizing the progress of the nation, Emperor Ashoka changed the Dharma Chakra into a symbol of Dharma in the center of the flag.This is how the tricolor flag of the Congress Party became the tricolor flag of independent India.

Lets socialize : Share via Whatsapp